June 6, 2013

  • The biggest NSV

    I was just thinking about how “ready” I was for weight loss surgery. The last lingering feeling of self doubt was that I was going to do something so drastic and then still not be able to get pregnant. I remember meeting with the psychologist and voicing that doubt. It was my most genuine fear. I wasn’t worried about losing my boobs or my ass, or even the loose skin. I was worried that my body would still not get pregnant. She reassured me that it wasn’t a silly fear. And that if that was the case, would I still be happy just being healthy? I knew that I’d still have a feeling of loss, defeat, but that I did want to be healthy. I needed to stop the madness. I needed to love myself again.

    When I tell people I’m pregnant, they love to tell me you lost all that weight and now you’re pregnant? Like it’s a bad thing, like it’s the worst thing ever. Even my mother-in-law….

    “Are you ready to get fat?”

    I cringe thinking about that now. I told her and I’m telling you all dear friends, I had surgery to be healthy, to rescue myself. I had surgery to be at a healthy weight prior to being pregnant. I wanted to have a non-high risk pregnancy. Being pregnant is so far my biggest NSV. PS, my boobs rock. They are off the chain!

    20130606_064356

    My pizza face is getting better too. I went for simple glam today, liner only on top, rosy cheeks and my favorite purply/pink lipstick. That covergirl foundation rocks my socks. It stays on all day (even in my beloved hometown’s humidity) and isn’t completely matte. I got some much needed rest last night and I’m feeling awesome today. Basking in my pregnancy glow over here! As for the scale, I haven’t gained any weight. At first I was worried about that, but my mom/the books I’ve been reading reassured me that is entirely possible. Talking to Daisy in our pregnancy happiness is my favorite thing ever. I’m going to have to visit her so I can see it in person. you ladies !

Comments (5)

  • Unfortunately, a lot of people focus on the “getting fat” part of pregnancy.  (It’s not getting fat, it’s HAVING A BABY.)  I really wish people would just shut up sometimes!  I didn’t think I could get pregnant either so maybe that’s why I haven’t really cared much about any of that?  I suppose it does also help that my body hasn’t been wrecked too much so far but it just honestly hasn’t been a big concern to me from the beginning as long as the baby is healthy.  I am just grateful to have the opportunity.  And just in general, everyone is different and every pregnancy is different!  As long as your doctor is not concerned, you have no reason to be!

    But seriously, you are an inspiration!  You have done so much for yourself and this truly is your reward!  You are healthy and ready to have this baby.  Don’t listen to people who say anything different.  :)

  • Who says you have to get fat?!?!  Umm…no!  I am actually lighter than before i got pregnant.  If you maintain a healthy lifestyle during pregnancy and stay active, whatever weight you gain, you will lose.  I think that’s very rude of people.  You are supporting a life!!! It’s hard to give up your body for 9 months, but it doesn’t mean you will have that extra weight on you forever.  People are so shallow!  Sorry, i’ll get off my soapbox now…lol

  • @Lushy - Thank you so much! I hope you’re basking in your pregnancy glow as well!

    @ShamrockLover - I’m going to remember your words, darling. Thank you!

  • You are going to show her. I can feel it.

    You’re going to come out of this with a beautiful healthy baby and you will bounce back fast. You have that iron will.
    Go girllll.

  • That is one of the nicest faces I have ever seen.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *