June 3, 2013

  • Pregnancy Updates

    I’m currently 8.5 weeks and things are swimming along nicely. I was only “sick” once and that was over the weekend after I noshed on some spicy pork rinds. I still love all of my food to be spicy/full of flavor. Well, until those rinds didn’t sit well with me. It wasn’t horrible, but I still think it won’t be. I keep thinking my smaller stomach is keeping me away from running to the bathroom, bush, etc. The nurse couldn’t verify that for me, but I’m thinking my theory is true. There have been a couple days where I just simply didn’t have time to eat, but never got sick.

    The only real issue I have is pizza face. My face is dry in some places, like near my eyes and an oil well in others (my cheeks/chin). I’m sooooo not used to that. I’m trying a new foundation. The covergirl 3 in one liquid one. It’s covering my pizza face in a lovely way. My tried and true Revlon ColorStay for dry skin, what I was using before may have been contributing to my problem. We shall see.

    Most days I just feel uber girly, feminine and it’s a feeling I’m trying to embrace. I’m normally a sassy pants, but I’ve been refraining from that. Earlier, one of my bosses said something that should have offended me but I just laughed it off because I knew he just said it in the most awkward way possible.

    Jefferson has been awesome. He’s still steady nesting. He cleared out half the office to make room for a crib. If he knew the sex, he’d be painting already too. Speaking of the sex, I have some aunts visiting from California (to see my Lita) and one of them has 4 boys. She told me an old wives tale. If the age you conceive + the month you conceive is an odd number, it’s a boy. She said it was true for all of her boys. Scrumpets, has this been true for you? For me, it’d be a girl, since I probably conceived in April and I’m 32. I still really want a boy. I want a mini JJ Watt. Well, maybe not mini… LOL.

    In other related news… I found out my brother/his new wife are expecting. Did I announce that? My brother (the 31 year old) got married 5/7. I found out the day of his wedding that I was expecting/told him. My parents were NOT as happy for him as they were for me, which sucks because this is definitely one of those memories that’s hard to erase/forget. I’m hoping that time can heal that wound. I know my brother is going to be an awesome Dad, and the cousins will be the same age. Yay!

Comments (5)

  • What if you conceive in an even month and your age is odd or vice versa? I conceived in February and was 27- no idea what it is yet. With Channing I conceived in December (even) and was 23. Who knows! I love old wives tales, I just never know how much stock to place them.

    May pizza face be the worst of your symptoms! I always get that too, but usually in addition to the other stuff. Sounds like you’re getting off pretty easy so far, which is lucky!

  • @humpdaytreats - See? False again! Channing should’ve been a boy. 23 + 2 = 25 so she should’ve been a boy. LOL! She’s so incredibly adorable and that smile of hers is delightful!

  • I’ve been breaking out on and off throughout my pregnancy and it’s such a pain, especially since you aren’t supposed to use most of the ingredients in acne washes.  I honestly haven’t minded it on my face as much (my skin is not the best and I’ve just gotten used to it over time) but my back and upper arms are broken out most of the time and that really bothers me!  I have no advice on what to do with it because I haven’t figured it out myself, LOL.  It was better in the second trimester but otherwise, not so much.

    Those numbers do not work for me.  I’m assuming I conceived in early November based on my due date and I am 30 so that doesn’t add up for me.  I know the Chinese Gender Chart thing was wrong also.  Somewhere along the line I became convinced I was having a girl (I honestly don’t remember exactly when, but I was probably 13-14 weeks or so) so I probably wouldn’t have paid attention to any of those things anyway!.

  • Those old wives tales are all sorts of funny.  Man, I remember being extra, uber sensitive and it never went away! Hahaha.

    I’m excited for you and it’s so cute J is so excited too. Teehee.

  • Yay for babies!!!! I’m glad you are feeling good. The gender thing was right for me!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *