June 26, 2013

  • For Lita

    My Lita went to be with my Lito Saturday morning. It felt like the longest day ever, and definitely dramatic, but it was spent with family, and I wanted to be there for my mama.

    Lita

    (Lita was a stunner)

    When I think of my Lita, I am filled with her warm words, her gentle smile and her constant words of wisdom. I remember asking her after my Lito passed, if she would ever marry again. She told me in her time you never discussed that. You married one time and that was it. It was in that moment I knew how much she loved my grandfather. One of my favorite memories was taking her to see a play downtown about Cantinflas. She used to watch these old movies with my Lito and I loved hearing her laugh and remember. It was a very special night and I was proud to share it with her. She constantly reminded me to be a lady. A lady didn’t laugh loud, didn’t say anything mean and she always took care of her family. One of my favorite pieces of advice that I’m still learning is, es mejor que solo hay un loco que dos. I like to tell my husband that position has been filled but I know now that even though it’s better, it’s best for no crazy person to be present. I’m most proud of the relationship she had with her children. She was overwhelmingly patient, kind and was always on your side. It was an unconditional love that was shared equally among all of us. She never asked for much but when she called you answered. It’s a tradition I know my cousins and I will carry on with our parents. Another tradition we shared was how we ate as a family. The children were always served first, then our husbands and then us. Our families were who we put first. Outsiders always find it weird but for us, it’s always felt right. I will miss her voice, her quiet smile but I will always feel her love and remember her words.

Comments (3)

  • This was beautiful. Sorry for your loss. She seems like she was a wonderful lady.

  • So sorry for you loss. She sounds like an amazing woman and you were blessed to have her in your life. xo

  • She sounds like a beautiful person and like she lived a very full life!  I’m so sorry for your loss and I wish you and your family lots of comfort!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *