November 11, 2013

  • The scary times

    I feel pretty blessed that this has been a relatively easy pregnancy. No morning sickness, very little discomfort. Last week was not an easy week. I was pretty proud of the throwing up, but the doc wasn’t impressed or pleased. LOL. Why not?

    Friday morning, I met with him and told him about my epic adventure. He at first wanted me to do the same test again and I firmly said no, there has to be another test that will make us all feel comfortable about my glucose tolerance. He’s referring me to his dietitian. I was fasting at this point because I was sure he was going to make me do some other kind of test right away. After this appointment, I decided I better keep my ultrasound appt and check on the baby to make sure it wasn’t already getting too big due to me possibly being gestational diabetic. I was mid-way through the ultrasound, still fasting, and all of a sudden things started getting hot and fuzzy. I was no longer able to focus and I felt myself getting dizzy. I was able to tell the tech that before passing out. I woke up to a room full of people. The ultrasound doc, the front desk staff (all of them) and the tech. They were handing me a fruit bar and water. I quickly ate the bar and felt immediately better. There was a bp cuff on my arm and they were pricking my finger for my sugar level. BP was 80/50 or lower and my sugar came in at 115. I know my sugar bottomed out, but it hit me so fast it scared everyone. I apologized over and over for scaring everyone and the doc came to talk to me about the ultrasound. He didn’t think my sugar would’ve come up that fast, but I really think it did. He wouldn’t let me drive or go to work so I had to call in for the rest of the day. Husband came to pick me up and I took it easy the rest of the day.

    Saturday morning, I had breakfast. Around noon I was set to meet up with some girlfriends. While driving, I felt my sugar dip again. I was able to pull into a walgreens and get some OJ/snacks, but that scared me too. I meet with the dietitian tomorrow and the meeting can’t come soon enough. I need to know what the eff is going on, please! I’m all packed up today with snacks, juices, food in general. I don’t want any more dips, please. It’s never happened at work, but that doesn’t mean I want it to.

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *