Month: September 2013

  • Picture Time

    photo-1-1

    photo-3-1

    photo-2

    Good morning, ladies/gents.

    It's a boy! continues. Mom is on a mission to get me prepped/ready to shower. She tasked me with 8 million things to do. First order of business was pics of me/Jefferson wearing blue. I love these pics. I'm barely showing, but it'll do. I'm all registered and Cowboy is really in nursery planning mood now. John Deere everywhere! I know who I married. LOL. I'm aiming for a more subtle approach. I'm not a Green Bay fan, so a room full of green/yeller is not my ideal. I've seen more subtle approaches to this theme and I'm hoping I can negotiate down. Next on my list is measuring the crib for a mattress, and getting these pics printed. My mom received an invite to a shower not too long ago and we had no idea who it was for. It was for my cousin's wife, but she didn't take his name and expected us to remember her. That's why my mom wants pics in the invite. She's too cute.

    Lately the overwhelming feeling of just being tired has consumed me. I'm not able to do my normal wifely duties. Over the weekend, I did not feel like doing laundry, and poor Jefferson had to wear shorty shorts to work yesterday. I felt horrible. I tried to do laundry as soon as I got home, but fell asleep before I could hang up everything. When husband came to bed, I woke up and went to check and he'd already hung them up. I was sad. I wanted to do it for him. I appreciated that he did it but I still felt horrible that I was too tired to do it.

  • MIL Woes

    This blog has always been my sacred place. I really hate to abandon ship. I've always loved the community and the fellow bloggers I've had the pleasure of meeting. I'll try to stick around as long as I can.

    Recently, MIL showed her ass again. Husband asked her for a list of family/addresses for the baby shower. Her response? Why? For a baby I'm never going to see?

    WTH? Where did that come from? It hurt husband and my mama bear claws wanted to come out. I refrained and remained supportive of who I married. He told her something that really made me proud. He told her, "Sometimes it feels like you try your best to pull us [me/Lorie] apart." I was proud wifey at that point.

    I've never wanted to feel like I come between them. Especially now. I'm pregnant. It's supposed to be a happy time. I'm already dealing with my overwhelming competitive issues in that sis-in-law is pregnant too. That's a whole nother story. Briefly:she's having a baby reveal party 9/17. Invited my family, including my husband, but not me. Because she's awesome.

    Back to MIL. There are days I just don't want to deal. It's difficult dealing with someone when it feels like a constant uphill battle. Even though I feel like I've done nothing to show her I don't like her, she constantly pulls that out of her ass and tells my husband that, my mom, etc. It gets her nowhere. Especially with my mom. My mom will tell her, "I don't know why you feel that way."

    During the whole discussion on Sunday, I was at a loss. I didn't want to get involved, but I couldn't help but think, something else is a brewing here. Something else is bugging her. She's using this, but something else is really bothering her. I had him ask her but she just went on this long tirade about how he doesn't spend time with her or his brother. As if we're off doing these extravagant things. We're enjoying quiet time at home. No fighting. Just happy pregnant couple things.

    With her negativity running rampant, I don't blame husband for not spending time with her. I never tell him he can't. It's his decision. The fact that he wants to spend time with my family fills my heart with joy. Recently, she invited us to dinner. She did so at 4pm. She was already at the restaurant and I don't get off work until 4. It was an afterthought, but I went anyway. I knew she probably wanted to see me, and I showed up without my husband, like a BAWSE. He arrived later, but we had a nice chat, despite the fact that she was done eating by the time I arrived. I was irked by the late, last minute invite, but I showed up. And I don't like her? AWESOME.

    I'm hoping she cools off, gets over herself and gives my mom the info she requested. I'm 5 months pregnant. And it's a boy. And I'm over the moon. Love you, guys!